Regions in Malawi

Malawi is made up of 3 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Malawi. Information on all primary administrative regions in Malawi.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Malawi alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Malawi

There are 3 regions in Malawi in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Malawi
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Central Region Central Region1.7,523,340Lilongwe Lilongwe646,750
Northern Region Northern Region2.2,289,780Mzuzu Mzuzu175,345
Southern Region Southern Region3.7,750,629Blantyre Blantyre584,877